Advice on how to move forward after a spouse has a relapse?

relapse
recovery

Hi, I am new to the village and was wondering if anyone has any advice on how best to handle a loved ones relapse. In short, I recently got married to my husband where after a month in, his addiction came to light. He then committed to being sober and started therapy for 3 and a half months, but had a relapse recently over our honeymoon. With the relapse came hiding and lying, all things that can really affect a marriage. He has committed to being sober again, but how do I keep things in perspective so I can remain positive and hopeful after being hurt? Also I am struggling with how relapses are viewed as “normal” and talked about a lot in recovery programs. I understand it is a part of most early recovery, but how can we let them know that when it happens it can be really damaging to trust? Thanks!

Welcome here @Lauren some of the science-based information in this Playbook topic: Brain Chemistry & Change I found really enlightening to understand what’s in and more out of their control during recovery. Let me know if this is useful to you at all? Also, would you mind sharing what the substance is? That might help also with some knowledge sharing :heart: :

@Jane Thank you so much! I will look into that Playbook. The substance is alcohol and mixing with prescription pain killers

Hello, how do I get access to that topic “brain chemistry changes”?

@Crystaljunebug welcome here :slight_smile: this topic and many others are available in our Course. Have you had a chance to check that out? We also have a Group Course starting next week that could be very helpful if you’re interested. Let me know if you have any questions.